Dec 22, 2012; Atlanta, GA, USA; Former heavyweight boxing champion Evander Holyfield sits court side during the first half of the game between the Chicago Bulls and the Atlanta Hawks at Philips Arena. Mandatory Credit: Kevin Liles-USA TODAY Sports

Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame presents class

In two days the Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame (NVBHOF) will welcome 18 well-known fighters and figures who gave the best years of their life to the Sweet Science at the induction ceremony, Aug. 9.

The fighters being inducted into this year’s class is who’s who of competitors with a plethora of world championships between them: Sonny Liston, Cornelius, Boza Edwards, George Foreman, Evander Holyfield, Roberto Duran, Jackie Dempsey, Archie More and Joe Louis.

Non-boxers will be inducted include trainer Miguel Diaz, officials Richard Steele and Kenny Bayless, commentator Col. Bon Sheridan, writer Kevin Iole, promoter Bruce Trampler, executives Chuck Minker and Luther Mack, Clifford Perlman and Steve Wynn

In addition to the inductees, several of today’s top competitors will be honored at the ceremony. Floyd Mayweather Jr. will receive his second consecutive NVBHOF Fighter of the Year award. Joe Bliss will receive the President’s Award. Bermane Stiverne, Shawn Porter, Ana Julaton, Vinh Thai, Garrett Felling, Mary Ann Owen and Dr. Charles Bernick will be honored with special achievement awards.

Who are you excited to see go into this year’s Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame? Answer with a comment below or send a tweet to @tldaylightsfs. 

Tags: Boxing Evander Holyfield George Foreman Hall Of Fame National Boxing Hall Of Fame

comments powered by Disqus